Skip to content
March 6, 2009 / Kuan

Higher Spiritual Power [Barcelona: pre-trip]

I woke up Qitong’s phone call. “Hello…(image my sleepy voice),” I said. “WOKE UP! IT’S EIGHT O’CLOCK.” She screamed through the phone. 

Thirty minutes later, I found myself packed everything needed for a nine-day trip in Europe (although later on I found I missed my power converter, which is kinda important), finished typing a French essay which is due today, and burned photos onto a CD for portfolio review for studying abroad program in London in the fall. 

I didn’t have enough time to leave a note to my roommate, to ask her to hand in my French homework and the CD for me. I wrote the French department address on a post-it, and sticked it on my article, left them on the table, swung out of the room at 8:50 a.m.

My iPhone died in the airport, and I needed to call my roommate to ask her to do such big favors for me. There is no Internet connection in the airport, so I couldn’t let my French professor know that he would be getting my homework late, and through my roommate (potentially). 

1 p.m., I sat at a dining table in JFK, cursing my day. *A lesson learned from me: DO NOT go to bed at 5 a.m., thinking you will get up at 6 a.m. and continuing doing work.* 

There are definitely storm clouds above  my head at that time (in comic cartoons, characters have that gloomy look? Yeah, that’s it!) But life did not give up on me. My sky lights up when my roommate texted me saying that she found my stuff on the table, and turned them in for me, despite the fact that she couldn’t reach me to confirm. 

So, I have to say there is a higher spiritual power taking care of me this morning. I slept through 13 phone calls from Qitong, and only woke up to the 8 a.m. one. My lovely roommate saw my essays on the table, and figured they are some “gifts” for her. 

The end of the catastrophe  is that I landed safely in Barcelona at 9:55 a.m. on March 6, 2009. What a remarkable day.

Leave a Reply

