Skip to content
April 20, 2009 / Kuan

Love the photographer: Patrick Farrell

picture-12(Copy right Patrick Farrell for Miami Herald )

Pulitzer Price announced this year’s Breaking News Photography Winner today at 3 p.m. in Cambridge University, and the prize went to Patrick Farrell for his harrowing images of the victims of the storms that ravaged Haiti in 2008.

I’ve seen photos much heartbreaking than this, but for some reason, I was stunned when I saw it.

No one is looking down at the children. They stared at me.

Too much to bare in these eyes. I don’t dare stare back at those eyes. I am powerless.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rebecca Yan / Apr 20 2009 9:37 pm

    I read a book by Susan Sontag , called On Photography. Then I realized the photographer taking pictures of the horror has nothing to do with the rescue, I mean most of them just take pictures to show pity, without any more actions to help.

    • kuanluo11 / Apr 21 2009 9:15 am

      I don’t agree with this point, because first of all, what a photographer can help with that situation? Donate all his money can’t solve the problems at all. Second of all, as a photographer, his way of rescuing is to take pictures, to record. By making images, the public, like us, get to know what is going on, and we can generate help to those people.
      Without photographers, lots of these will be lost, and we will never be able to help because we can’t see, know what is going on.
      :) just my personal opinion as a photographer, I am biased.

  2. Rebecca Yan / Apr 23 2009 11:05 am

    I basically agree with you.:)
    But Susan Sontag’s view is quite different. And I think it is a question worth thinking. Besides taking pictures, what else can photographers do to help?

Leave a Reply

