Skip to content
October 27, 2010 / Kuan

Illustrating Cover Letter Is Less Frustrating Than Writing One

This thought came to me last night when I was trying to cramming out a cover letter for News 21: Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education application. Personally, I don’t like writing cover letters. It’s pretty much like mumbling about how awesome I am to someone who is far way awesome than me. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read impressive cover letters that are still witty and humble. I’m just not one of those writers.

It was 8 p.m., I still had to finish a comparison between Vivant Denon‘s Point de Lendemain and its transformed film adaptation The Lovers. I was pulling my hair, and suddenly thought of my friend InDesign. Instead of expressing my interests and what I will be able to contribute via words, it might be easier for me to communicate such ideas via design.

I tried to illustrate how my skills will contribute to potential projects, and I used color-coding to demonstrate that certain skills  will largely benefit certain projects.

Last year, Newhouse students who participated in the project produced apartfromwar.org. The design and infographics were done by David Miller, under Innovate Officer AJ Chavar.

Leave a Reply

