Skip to content
March 18, 2011 / Kuan

Recent work: Nostalgia

 

I fell in love with the word “nostalgia” when I was watching a short documentary on Doyald Young on Lynda.com. Young said in the video that he loves words and finding meanings of words in dictionaries. Most of us know “nostalgia” as a sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, he said. But the word, originally, means “homesickness.” 

As if on cue, my friend Lauren who just graduated from Syracuse University, now an intern in NPR, sent me an email the same day, in which she told me that she was feeling nostalgia for Syracuse in the springtime.

Nostalgia.

I started to form design ideas in my head that reflect the word–something that is homey, ornamental and organic. And I thought of wine, as to me, that is something stimulates nostalgia. Wine is there at family reunion dinner each year; wine is there during most gatherings with my friends in school; wine is there at restaurants where I share precious moments with a close friend or two.

In the logo design, I used ornamental shapes and italic, script typography and they seem to fit the voice of nostalgia well.

The concept of the wine is to recall memories, stories about home. Nostalgia offers white, red, ice and desert wine, each corresponding to a season of a year. Spring is light and sweet as the white wine; hot summer evenings need ice wine (it sounds cooling and comforting); harvest fall best suits deep red wine; lastly, winter desert wine is there to go with creamy cheesecakes.

The front of the label has the year of the production as well as the type of the wine (a.k.a the season), to not only provide essential information about the product, but also recall memories of potential buyers of what happened in that season during that particular year. In the rear label, a personal story about the wine from a consumer is recorded to evoke emotions.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. azar033 / Apr 19 2011 12:10 am

    Hey Quan!
    Here is my fav/most inspiring clip from TV history.

    I love nostalgia.

    Lately I’ve been obsessed with designs ability to not only inform and persuade but DELIGHT. =)
    your work is delightful. thanks for sharing.

    • Kuan / Apr 19 2011 7:14 am

      Aww! Thanks Chris! :)

  2. Cecile / May 1 2011 12:35 am

    i really enjoy these labels. I am, i guess, a nostalgaholic and drink far too frequently from droughts of nostalgia. Everything looks nice and italicized in retrospect, and I think you capture that well.

    • Kuan / May 5 2011 8:51 pm

      Thank you so much! :) I’m glad Nostalgia makes you feel the same way as I do!

Leave a Reply

